Dear Colleagues,

We would like to draw your attention to the Boltzmann Medal, which is presented by the C3 Commission on Statistical Physics of the International Union for Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) every three years, at the Statphys Conference. The next Boltzmann Award(s) will be given during Statphys 27, to be held in Buenos Aires, Argentina, from 8-12 July 2019 (http://statphys27.df.uba.ar/); one or two Boltzmann Medals are awarded in a Statphys Conference. The Award, consisting of a gilded medal, honours outstanding achievements in Statistical Physics.

The recipient should be a scientist who has not already received the Boltzmann Medal or the Nobel Prize. The winner of the award is chosen by a Selection Committee, consisting of the members of the C3 Commission (<u>http://iupap.org/commissions/c3-commission-on-statistical-physics/members/</u>), the Chairman of the previous C3 Commission (Itamar Procaccia), the Chair of the Scientific Committee of the Statphys Conference (Silvina Ponce Dawson for Statphys 27), and the previous Boltzmann medalists who agreed to be on the Selection Committee

(<u>https://statphys26.sciencesconf.org/resource/page/id/16</u>). Members of the Selection Committee are not eligible for the award.

Nominations for the award should be sent to us before 1 Janaury 2019 (23:59 UTC time) at the following e-mail address: c3commission1820@gmail.com. The subject line of the e-mail nomination should read as follows: Boltzmann Award: Nomination for Name-of-Nominee.

The nominations must be accompanied by a description of the work of the nominee consisting of at least one and no more than two typed pages, which should include a listing of no more than half a dozen key publications by the nominee. Please do not include pdf files of published papers, but give references or links to these. Nominations for a joint award to two scientists, preferably for related work, are acceptable. We welcome, especially, nominations of women and members of all other under-represented groups for the Boltzmann Award.

Nominations should be sent by the principal nominator; names of other nominators should be included in the nomination letter. A nominator can be the principal nominator for only one nomination for the Boltzmann Award.

We would appreciate it if you could inform other members of the statistical physics community of this nomination process, because we want to be certain to consider the best possible nominees. We apologise if you receive this announcement more than once.

Thanking you and with our best regards,

Yours sincerely,

Lucilla De Arcangelis, Secretary C3 Commission of the IUPAP, Maxi San Miguel, Vice Chair C3 Commission of the IUPAP, and Rahul Pandit, Chair C3 Commission of the IUPAP

Rahul Pandit, Professor Department of Physics and Chairman Division of Physical and Mathematical Sciences Indian Institute of Science Bangalore 560 012 India PHONE:+91 80 2293 2863; +91 80 2293 2249 E-MAIL : rahul@iisc.ac.in URL: http://www.physics.iisc.ernet.in/~rahul