Dear Colleagues,

We would like to draw your attention to the Young Scientist Prizes in Statistical Physics, which are presented by the C3 Commission on Statistical Physics of the International Union for Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) every three years, at the Statphys Conference. The next Young Scientist Award(s) will be given during Statphys 27, to be held in Buenos Aires, Argentina, from 8-12 July 2019 (http://statphys27.df.uba.ar/); a maximum of three such awards can be given at a Statphys Conference.

The Young Scientist Prize in Statistical Physics has been established by the C3 Commission on Statistical Physics of the IUPAP. The Prize aims to recognize outstanding achievements of scientists at early stages of their careers in the field of Statistical Physics. The recipients must be no more than eight years past the award of their PhDs on 1 July 2019; and they are expected to have displayed significant achievement and exceptional promise for future achievements in the area of experimental or theoretical Statistical Physics. The Prize consists of a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient, a Medal, and 1000 euros.

Nominations for this Young Scientist Prize should be sent to us before 31 December 2018 at the following e-mail address: c3commission1820@gmail.com. The subject line of the e-mail nomination should read as follows: Young Scientist Prize C3: Nomination for Name-of-Nominee.

The nominations must be accompanied by a description of the work of the Young Scientist; this should consist of at least one, and no more than two, typed pages, which should include a list of no more than half a dozen key publications by the nominee. Please do not include pdf files of published papers, but give references or links to these. Nominations should be sent by the principal nominator; names of other nominators should be included in the nomination letter. A nominator can be the principal nominator for only one nomination.

The winners of the Young Scientist Prize in Statistical Physics are chosen by a Selection Committee, consisting of the members of the C3 Commission (http://iupap.org/commissions/c3-commission-on-statistical-physics/members/), the Chairman of the previous C3 Commission (Itamar Procaccia), and the Chair of the Scientific Committee of the Statphys Conference (Silvina Ponce Dawson for Statphys 27).

We would appreciate it if you could inform other members of the statistical physics community of this nomination process, because we want to be certain to consider the best possible nominees. We apologise if you receive this announcement more than once.

Thanking you and with our best regards,

Yours sincerely,

Lucilla De Arcangelis, Secretary C3 Commission of the IUPAP, Maxi San Miguel, Vice Chair C3 Commission of the IUPAP, and

Rahul Pandit, Chair C3 Commission of the IUPAP

Rahul Pandit,
Professor
Department of Physics
and Chairman Division of Physical and Mathematical Sciences
Indian Institute of Science
Bangalore 560 012
India

PHONE:+91 80 2293 2863; +91 80 2293 2249

E-MAIL: rahul@iisc.ac.in

URL: http://www.physics.iisc.ernet.in/~rahul